katelynjane

Important People

In Uncategorized on May 21, 2008 at 10:33 pm

I’ve decided my new job rocks. Why? Well, one of the many reasons is because I get to meet famous people!! Ok, not all the time, but yesterday I did…and it was awesome!

The US Ambassador came to visit our small town and because the entrepreneur centre where I work is also home to a local radio station, I was able to cover the event. Seeing that I had no idea who the Ambassador was, I really didn’t know which of the guys he was when he walked out of the room he had been in. Walking directly up to me he shook my hand and said “Hi, David Wilkens, and you are?”…oh, I guess that’s him! I thought (: I chatted a bit to him, his Chief of Administration and his wife. They are the most down to earth people, so kind and friendly. I was really impressed!

It didn’t even cross my mind at the time to get a private picture of Mr. Wilkens and I, I wish I had…maybe next time.

What impacted me the most from the Ambassador’s visit and his speech, was how he talked about the Canadian forces and how we need to be proud of the work they are doing along side the American soldiers. It’s so easy to get caught up in the question that’s going around lately “When will Canada bring our forces home?” and not think of the men over there. It’s so easy to get more concerned about the government and their actions to bringing our guys home and not think, or pray for, the actual men over there…fighting, suffering and distanced from their families.

I really hope that this job brings me into the path of many more people like the Ambassador. Famous or not, I love meeting people who have direction and a positive influence on those around them.

Leave a Reply

