katelynjane

Workin’ Out

In Uncategorized on June 3, 2008 at 9:00 pm

While running, it is rude to count the people you pass out loud.

-Unknown

I love running…well, it’s not always restricted to running, it’s just working out in general. Last night I went for a sweaty ride on the bike, and then jumped over to the rowing machine. It feels great to flex those muscles and work up a sweat…as gross as that sounds!

One thing that I have to have for a good work out is fresh, upbeat music. My hubby thinks that this isn’t as important, and it might not be as important for him. But he doesn’t run. When you run it’s so easy to quit when it starts to get tough. It’s completely mental. If you can distract your mind and not focus on your pain and effort, you can run a whole lot further.

I’m always interested in what other people listen to when they’re working out. Not only is it interesting to know each persons different music taste, it’s also a great way to get ideas for new music on your ipod or MP3 player.

I just found this great article on different ideas for workout music. Well, it’s not the article that’s interesting, it’s the comments.

“When you put yourself on the line in a race and
expose yourself to the unknown, you learn things
about yourself that are very exciting.”
– Doris Brown Heritage
5 time World Cross-Country Champion

 Like I said in yesterdays post, goals are important! I actually haven’t set goals for my running lately and like a lot of other things, it’s on my “To Do” list.

I’ve been checking out different articles on how to build your endurance and how to run faster. It gets annoying reading some of these articles because it seems to be the same information, just worded differently, but this article has some great new info in it! I’ll have to start applying it when I go to the gym.

There’s a running club in town that I should look into joining. I see then when I drive to work in the mornings, all wearing matching coats with reflectors and running their little buns off. Sometimes you see a couple of them jogging at a slower pace, sometimes walking. It looks like a supportive group but still one that pushes you to improve (Goal #1: Join Running Club).

Q: How do you challenge yourself in your running routine?

Leave a Reply

