katelynjane

Create Through Necessity

In Uncategorized on June 11, 2008 at 5:00 pm

Hi! I’m guestblogging here today. Allow me to introduce myself: My name is Damien from Postcards from the Funny Farm. Many thanks to Katelyn for having me. I enjoy reading this blog and I think there are many things in store around here so make sure and bookmark her! Now onto my post on creativity …

To me, the truest examples of creativity are born out of practicality. For example, I didn’t have a speaker to play science videos in my classroom. I rigged up my guitar amplifier and it sounded nice and crisp. It was a bit piercing though since it is made for a guitar and not a VCR. This is where “necessity became the mother of invention.” I took a box and put the amplifier inside it. The sound was now perfect, like a movie theater. People come into my room all the time and see the cord coming out of the box and I always brag about how creativity met practicality.

If you’re trying to top something you saw a friend make or that you saw at a craft fair etc., STOP. You’re “trying” and that defeats creativity. You should be relaxing your mind and PLAYING. This is when the mind create things. If you really can’t let go of your urge to create something then start doing things around the house or at work that you need to get done but have been avoiding. Relax your mind and think about a quicker way to do them. You may come up with a device like my amp box, or you might just see things in a new way and see that for so long you have been “doing it wrong.” By living our lives noramlly, going about our regular duties and activities, we will inevitably find ways of doing them better and who knows … if the idea is catchy enough, you could make a million.

  1. […] invited me to spill my guts on the subject over there, I gladly took her up on it.  Check out my guest blog over there and do me a favor and show some love with a comment and a Stumble.  Creativity is truly every […]

  2. Thanks Damien! I really enjoyed having you as a guest blogger on my blog!

  3. You’re very welcome. I’m getting lots of ideas for creativity topics so I hope I can post here again. Great job with the layout and the energy here 🙂

  4. […] Create Through Necessity « Katelynjane’s Notebook […]

  5. […] Create Through Necessity « Katelynjane’s Notebook Jump to Comments Create Through Necessity « Katelynjane’s Notebook […]

  6. […] I promoted my blog on Wriging.com, the Etsy forums, Fuelmyblog.com and other blogs and received a total of 453 views. This was also due to the fact that I asked Damien from Postcards to be a guest blogger and his readers came here to read his entry. […]

  7. […] Create Through Necessity a guest blog at Katelynjane’s Notebook. […]

Leave a Reply

