katelynjane

My Escape

In The Shed on June 17, 2008 at 2:00 pm

My sister and brother in law have been storing their household items in our shed until they get into their own house. That time is now! Their house is finally ready for them to start moving things into it and even though I’m super excited for them, I’m also super excited to have our shed back.

I’ve had this huge dream to transform this shed into my creative escape. It’s a big shed, probably about 15’x15’…maybe a bit bigger. It’s going to have to store a few odd items in it (like tires, car parts etc) but for the most part, I’m going to claim it as mine. The hubby gets a huge shop to do his “crafts” in, I should be able to have my own shop too!

Here’s my plan:

  • Paint the floor white
  • Make long curtains to cover the walls (it will be just as much for paint, I figure, but will make it more homey and warm feeling). I know I won’t be able to afford the fabric that I linked too…at least not for the walls, but that’s the look I’ll be going for (:
  • I’m going to make my own sewing table from saw horses, a 4×8 sheet of Good 1 Side, and ceiling tile (you can pin right into the table to make your cuts just perfect!!). I’ll cover the tile with a canvas type material and staple it down.
  • I need a couch in there for guests
  • Bookshelves
  • A couple of drawer units
  • Some baskets
  • A rug
  • I’ll need an electric fireplace for the winter months and of course electricity, which I’ll have the trusty husband work on

I’m SO excited to get working on my shed! It’s going to take a year or two to get it to the final stage but it’s worth the wait. I just can’t wait to get started!

I’ll be posting pictures of our reno’s on the shed so check back to see our progress!

Leave a Reply

