katelynjane

Decorating!

In Uncategorized on July 15, 2008 at 8:30 pm

                     

We’re trying to get our act together and decorate our bedroom. We’ve been in our house now for three summers and of course, we’re leaving our own room as the last thing to decorate. I just don’t want to be like that! I’d like my room to be a quite get-away, a calming place to go and relax. Right now it’s a disaster!

I think I’m going to stick with lighter, toned down colors, a pale olive green sounds good. I need to get a new duvet cover (well, ok, I don’t…but it’s a really good excuse!) that would look good in the green color above. We have dark brown curtains already and we need to get new carpet, a cream colored burlap type.

I’m also planning on painting a small book shelf white and having a comphy chair in one of the corners.

I can’t wait to get started on this project (yes, another one to add to the list!!).

  1. I know what you mean about decorating your house. We’ve lived in ours for a year and have yet to hang a picture on the wall. The color scheme sounds like a great palette.

  2. It’s super hard to get to doing this stuff when you work full time and do Etsy on the side! Thanks, I really hope the colors look good together in the end!

  3. We’ve been in our house a year and the plan was to focus on one room at a time. Well, the kitchen is “almost” done. Blah! I hope I get to do the bedroom soon! I think yours is going to be beautiful from the sounds of it!

  4. That was our plan too…and so far we’ve re-done the entrance way, put in three new windows…and that’s it 😀 I think we’ve taken so long to do the bedroom because it’s hard to decide what to do!

  5. I love the idea of toned down colors. My husband and I are starting to do that right now. Feng Shui-wise, it’s just more subtle and more subdued – which is just what you want to come home to after a long day at work. And if you’re at home all the time, why not surround yourself with a decor that’s calm?

  6. I completely agree! It’s great to just feel surrounded in calm after a rushed day at work (:

Leave a Reply

