katelynjane

Blogging Techniques 3

In Uncategorized on August 19, 2008 at 7:37 pm
This blogging techniques entry is from Damien, from Post Cards from the Funny Farm, a mentor of mine in the blogging department. Damien was the blogger that encouraged me to look into getting my own domain and has mentored me through that process.

Here’s the question I sent Damien: How did you start blogging and what promotions etc. have you done to get to where you are now?

A: My first “touch” of a blog was through Blogger (also referred to as “blogspot” and now owned by Google).  I started a blog but had no idea what all the bells and whistles around me did.  I knew how to write though so I kept an online diary sending the link to family after I saw movies, went to events etc.  I started doing that in 1997.  After that I started a FORUM, which is kind of like a blog.  I used to chat on a local forum and the moderators got really Draconian so I decided to start my own (sorry for the long boring answer, I am almost finished).  In the time I was on the forum I learned a ton of html a little at a time: ie; How to make a signature photo appear etc.  This would later prove very important for me in blogging.

The beginning of blogging for me was in December of 2006 when I started Postcards from the Funny Farm.  I could say a lot more that would probably help people starting but maybe you could interview me sometime 😉   The promotions I have done to become an established and lucrative blogger are legion, but if I had to whittle it down to the I feel would most help a beginning blogger, I would say these (if you’re serious):

Okay, better stop now — doing all that will take you weeks.  Come over to my online diary if you have any more questions.

 

Thanks Damien!

I hope everyone got something out of this Blogging Techniques series! Thanks to all the bloggers that gave their opinion and advice!

  1. Thanks so much Katelyn. I can tell you are lovin’ life with your blog and that is an accomplishment!

  2. You’re welcome! Its the least I can do for all the help you’ve given me (: I seriously am loving blogging, it give me a sense of accomplishment and it’s just plain fun!

  3. I’m really enjoying reading your posts on Blogging Techniques. I found your blog from Make It. I’ll be checking back in to catch up on some of your back posts.

  4. Thanks Tina! I’m glad you’ve enjoyed these posts, I’ll be having more along these lines. Thanks so much for checking in and leaving a comment!

  5. […] Blogging Techniques 3 […]

Leave a Reply

