katelynjane

Keep the Faith

In Uncategorized on April 7, 2009 at 3:00 pm

It really frustrates me when people blow things completely out of proportion. They just love adding to stories to make them seem bigger than they are and more dramatic.

There’s seriously nothing more maddening to me.

Here’s an example.

My mom was telling me about this guy that a family friend was dating. This guy was apparently a bad influence on the girl, had long greasy hair, tattoos all over, piercings coming out of his yin-yang…you get the picture. He was not a decent guy. While my mom’s telling me this, she’s gasping and her eyes are wide. It’s a dramatic story. And of course I fell right into it. This girl was obviously not his type, what were they doing together?

Later on I find out exactly who the guy was, and it turns out, he’s one of my acquaintances. He’s super sweet, has medium to short hair, no tattoos, and his ears are pierced. (I’ve since learned to take my mom’s stories with a grain of salt).

With the world going down hill at the moment, I’m hearing so many stories that are made so much bigger than they need to be. I hear some people saying we need to start thinking about storing up food, that Obama is bringing the US into communism, that the world is going to end. Seriously.

Here’s what I think. Let the world do what it may. I’ll live my life one day at a time, deal with the challenges when they come, and that’s all that I can do. I refuse to panic. All I can do is trust that someone is looking out for me and use my common sense. Good grief, imagine if I started to panic now…while my life is still pretty easy?? I’d be a total wreck when it actually started to get tough!

I think the best way to prepare for the economy drama right now is to live life as it comes. Live sensibly, live smart. But don’t become fearful, don’t become paranoid. There’s a greater force then us out there, someone who can see the whole picture and has provided shelter even for the little sparrows.

By the way, I am in no way wanting to trivialize the hardships that some people are going through because of the economy now! I’m not saying that they are blowing their stories out of proportion, but that when it comes to “the world is ending”…well, you know what I mean.

  1. Sounds like an excellent and healthy take on it all. 😉

  2. I couldn’t agree with you more.

  3. Thank you girls! Sometimes I wonder if I’m marching to my own drum, it’s good to hear that you’re with me :D.

Leave a Reply

