katelynjane

MV Knits

In Uncategorized on February 27, 2009 at 5:33 pm


 

I keep watching this video over and over, the story is so beautiful…and the birth of the lamb just about brings me to tears!

The idea of CSA seems so sensible to me in this economy. I seriously think that now is the time to support the little guys. The Farmers Markets should be bustling now, the small businesses should be busy.

When I was little my Dad would read me the Beatrix Potter stories. The little mice in the books were always preparing for winter, gathering nuts and making their houses cozy for the cold seasons. I was about 5 at the time and I thought for sure that we, humans, had to do the same thing. I remember getting a panicked feeling when I realized our basement wasn’t filled with food. I asked my Dad why we weren’t stocking up for winter and he explained to me that it wasn’t necessary.

I’m getting that feeling again. How do we prepare for a recession? What do I do? How do I help my family get ready for potentially hard times? The biggest thing that I can do right now, I feel, is to support the little guys. Maybe this hits home a bit closer for me because my husband owns his own business…I just feel as though they are what is holding us up. They’re there for the long haul, as opposed to the big guys who are only in it for the payouts and not to keep their staff employed. Just my opinion (:

Check out the Stone Soup Challenge!

  1. Thanks for mentioning the challenge!

Leave a Reply

