katelynjane

Book Worm

In Uncategorized on March 30, 2009 at 3:00 pm

I was reading one of my Daily Reads tonight about her Saturday and she got me thinking about books. I could spend hours and hours in a book shop, browsing the shelves, reading a chapter here, a chapter there.

One of my favorite shops to visit in Edmonton or Calgary when we go to visit, is Chapters. I get so excited just seeing the store, and going through those big wooden doors make me grin like a school kid in a candy shop.

My dream book shop though, was in Lewes, England. When I was there last, about ten years ago (wow, that makes me feel OLD!), my Uncle took me on a tour of the town. We came to a corner in the street, at the top of a cobblestone alley where book shelves stood, stacked full of books, on either side of a sunken doorway. Of course I had to take a look. Inside, after my eyes adjusted to the lack of light, the walls were lined with tall shelves, all sagging from the weight of the antique books they held. There were tables in the middle of the store, stacked high with more books, and even more books stacked on the floor beside them.

I dont’ think that I’ve posted on here but: Hubby and I are planning a trip to Europe this spring! It’s a slightly “spur of the moment” trip, and it isn’t going to be as long as I had wanted, but it will be GREAT to see my family over there and experience the culture again. I’m so in love with England it’s not even funny! And we’ll also be taking a couple day trip to Paris while we’re over there, so I’m THRILLED to see the Eiffel Tower and have crepes and wine and cheese at a Parisian cafe. I’m such a romantic!

books

  1. my bf wants to take me to europe for our honeymoon…i dont kow how we will be able toafford it though. also i love books too but i am trying to start with my bible cause i cant read anything unless i read that πŸ™‚

  2. You should go! It’s SO worth the money you spend and SO worth the time. You can save money by buying your own food and not eating out, staying in hostels and buying a Via Rail ticket before you go (if you plan on seeing a few countries).

  3. crepes! wine! france! england!

    SO JEALOUS! i haven’t been to europe at all (yet!) but plan on going at some point in the next two years. i’m saving money still, but it’s gonna happen, mark my words.

    in case you couldn’t tell – i loooove bookstores. πŸ˜‰

    i also have a thing for libraries. there’s such an air of romance and mystery and intrigue in them.

    (i also love chapters – one of my favourite dates with mike is a trip to chapters – we both split up and collect books, then meet up an hour and a half later to review our finds and decide what to buy… then we grab a coffee in the connected starbucks and read for a lil bit. or we’ll go to a nearby restaurant and grab dinner. books + food = best. date. ever.)

    some peeps here have issues with the fact that the local chapters/indigo is putting smaller bookstores out of business (which honestly is a big big shame) but i still enjoy them – they’ve perfected the art of a comfy place to shop and read (even if it’s in a very manufactured way), plus their selection is unparalleled. ahh, the joys of corporate vs. independent pleasures.

  4. My lord, girl! That comment was a full fledged book! πŸ˜€ I LOVED it! Huge comments are the bomb.

    Ok, so I’m seriously taking as many pictures of the book store in Lewes as I can and I’ll post them all. Just for you (: And me. So I can bawl my eyes out when I’m back in Canada and wishing that I was there again.

    It’s a hard call with Chapters. I see the fact that they are closing out little stores, but they’re atmosphere is just so amazing, it’s hard not to go there and ENJOY it! Hubby and I always go there too, as a date like thing, when we’re in the big city. It’s a must. Libraries are awesome too, I just hate it that I can’t keep the books (:

Leave a comment